PammyJ

By PammyJ

Perspective

I snapped a lovely picture of Central HK from my terrace this morning with my Nikon - it was a lovely clear morning, with perfect lighting for detail.   It was going to be a GREAT blip!

Then tonight while putting things away after dinner, I reflected how different my cupboards are compared to five years ago - when I was packing to move to Hong Kong from Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA.

 And I thought - now THAT'S a blip.

Yes, it's not as "sexy" as a landscape shot that can be so easily captured on our beautiful Lantau Island.

But to me, this pic is SO, so significant.

Five years ago I didn't cook with curry, or coconut milk.  I NEVER used vinegar.  The ancient soy sauce we owned back then was typically past the expiration date (that's OLD!).   

We were indeed typical Americans in the rat race of busyness, rushing here and there and everywhere.   Processed foods, fast food, frozen STUFF - those were our staple meals.  Convenient FAST and easy.  And SO very bad for us.  

It's 5 years later.  I'm 30+ pounds lighter, and immeasurably wiser (I think).   Along the way SOMEwhere, I figured out the more I learn the less I know.  

Delicious is far beyond anything I'd ever imagined.

Tonight, here I am.  In Hong Kong.  Learning.   Experimenting. Reflecting.  LIVING.  

So very, very grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.