A Collector of Oddities

By MinBannister

Monumental

My husband has been up but I never have. The website said that characters from his novels decorated the monument and it is mentioned on the first floor as well. The man at the door looked at me as if I was daft when I asked if there was some sort of map of them though. I thought it might be fun to look out for all the characters on the way up. Silly me!

I reckon you probably don't need drugs if you go up and down this a few times. 287 tiny spiral steps plus vertigo inducing views left me feeling a wee bit dizzy for quite some time afterwards! It was very cool though I was disgusted at all the vandalism. We even found a padlock at the top. I hope they cut that off sharpish.

We then went to the Writer's Museum which was really good. We have both actually been before but not for many years. I asked about a map of the Scott Monument and they didn't have one either but the man put me on the trail of a leaflet produced in the 50s of which I might be able to track down and look at a copy.

Seems a bit crazy doesn't it? "There are 64 statues of characters from the novels on the way up. What, you want to know what they are? Ye'll have had your tea on that one hen." I did manage to find this list on the internets though so I may be able to fashion some sort of guide for myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.