Shopping choices

Don’t know about you, but when it comes to routine weekly shopping, I prefer to ring the changes.
So today it was a visit to a nearby Sainsburys. But over the weekend you might just as likely found me at Waitrose, or earlier in the day at Asda. I even managed to take in Morrisons and Lidl sometime between Friday and today.
Not that I am a shopping fanatic — far from it, especially when it comes to mundane things like food and groceries. The one benefit is that I am acutely aware of prices, and when supermarkets are fiercely competitive, that sort of knowledge is invaluable.
Fortunately they are all relatively close so travel costs in terms of petrol used is no different from one to the other.
So take my wife’s favoured ice-cream, Currently I can save £1 a tub choosing to buy at two of them rather than the other three.  But new potatoes are much cheaper by the kilo at one of the other stores.

Yet on a different tack entirely . . . only one of them gives me a free coffee when I chose that store. I am not sure that will always compensate for price differentials of goods on the shelf, but it’s a comforting thought and sure enough I did enjoy two cappuccinos over the weekend ‘on the house.’

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.