Glass (and a life update)

I started my new job today. I took this picture from the parking garage near the office. The first day was OK. The security guard at the parking garage yelled at me because he didn't know the name of the company I am working for. The company recently spun off a part of it and changed a name for that division, but the division I work for retained the old name. He didn't know that or didn't want to know it. Anyway, he yelled at me for some reason. I had to show him the emails from my bosses with my work instructions. Jerk.

Work was OK. The shifts aren't ideal, but it's nice to have a job again. Plus I have access to this parking garage in the heart of downtown, so expect plenty more photos from downtown now.

I was jobless about three months. That's not bad considering the other long stints of unemployment I've had (eight months in 2008 and five months in 2011). This was just enough time to relax a little, take some trips and then begin worrying like a crazy person after the relaxation ends. But even then I was only worrying for a few weeks.

So employment is good. Now I just hope my last job calls back in a few months and offers. The pay was nicer, it had way more security (job-wise, not like the guard at the parking garage), it was prestigious, and I loved it. But for now, I'll take what I have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.