Mrs Overall

Was the guidance I gave Norman Hood (cartoonist) for this family portrait, my 60th birthday present to Diana. Anyone familiar with my family will get most of the subtle references in each of the characters. Less obvious perhaps is why I asked him to model Diana on Mrs Overall, the Julie Walters character in Acorn Antiques, a little sketch in the Victoria Woods show. Basically, it's because Diana HATES housework and so very rarely does it. Good job I'm a domestic godess.

The children have paid for us both to have afternoon tea on the Orient Express. Diana was delighted and quite rightly so, a wonderful present.


We had a great night last night. For the most part, the food was lovely, but my attempt at making apple roses was a disaster, the apples being too stiff and the pastry too soft, so everything just fell apart when I tried to roll it. Luckily Ross had brought 9 cheeses round, so we didn't go hungry.

I made fondant potatoes for the first time. Frying pan was in the oven at 220 degrees C for 45 minutes. When I lifted it out I warned everyone NOT to touch it. Having served the potatoes, I lifted Jack's chicken out of the oven, had nowhere to put it down so instinctively reached out to move the frying pan. Rachel called out NO, but strangely, despite hearing it, I continued - once the body has committed to a move it's very difficult to stop it. Bugger was that pan handle hot. I lifted it right up off the stove. I might even have sworn - very out of character I can f*cking tell you. 

Change of plan today. Just realised that the car's mot expires tomorrow. Off to get a couple of new tyres for the front and may even need a new section of exhaust - it's sounding a bit sporty noisy at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.