Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Day 130: One of Those Circle of Life Kinda Things

(If you can name the film that quote came from I will be impressed).

This morning the Canada Geese had returned to the lake for the winter. They always show up in mid October; last year they raised a lovely little family, but none of the goslings have returned. That (anthropomorphically) made me sad and set me off on a whole Circle of Life train of thought. I was shaken from my reverie by Lizzie barking up the wrong tree at a squirrel. 

The shot is taken on the iPhone and has been processed within half an inch of its life. 

Sarah has been doing well on her new course, I have seen her grow in confidence and independence; yesterday we hit the ground with a bump when she turned up in floods of tears. In her own words she had "freaked out" when the teacher asked them to answer an essay style question under exam conditions. It reminds me how fragile her confidence is, and how narrow the line is between protecting them and toughening them up. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.