Footprint

By littleblips

Dangerous Plants

Mum took me to the Prahran Markets today, where I took a photo of these flowers. I don't know what they are, sorry. I bought some fancy tea leaves that were on special, too.

Lucky I looked up Pennyroyal on a range of sites before I drank it. While it's unlikely I would have killed myself, it is not recommended for consumption in any form due to liver toxicity. "Pennyroyal has been used as an insect repellent, antiseptic, fragrance, flavoring, as an emmenagogue, carminative, stimulant, antispasmodic and for bowel disorders, skin eruptions, and pneumonia. The abortive effect of the oil is unpredictable and dangerous. The dose at which the herb induces abortion is close to lethal, and in some cases it is lethal. Pennyroyal is not considered safe for ingestion for any use." While I am not pregnant (!) I would still like to know why it was for sale without any warning notice on the packaging whatsoever! The tea is said to be toxic for children and when I looked up 'health benefits' there didn't appear to be any worth taking a risk for!

I also bought a packet of red clover tea leaves. That has to boil or steep for HALF an hour! Lucky I could blip while I wait...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.