Scapa Flow: Tranquility

Today the amount of tranquillity in Scapa Flow must be unprecedented; it’s also hard to capture in a Blip.  So, once more the Hills of Hoy feature large.  It’s a bonus to have this at the foot of the garden.  Whilst walking alongside it is comforting (and smug) to know that people are travelling between Hammersmith and Green Park.  Anywhere but here.  More frequently the Flow is in a state of agitation and the following day we have to wash the salt from the windows.  But today the sea twinkled, a tanker slipped into Flotta, scarifies dived and I watched them swim under water.  The Tysties even piped to me. 

It’s the kind of day to also wonder why Phillip Larkin got so stuck and couldn’t get beyond Sidney Bechet.

Cigs phoned and asked me to walk up Mid Hill with him and the Ciglettes; this part of his Cigs Tribute Farewell Tour of Orcadia.  However today I also feel energy less and leaden limbed so I have dosed myself up and I await his appearance p.m.  They will be able to sample CMC’s bun recipe.  CMC herself will be across in Hoy helping her mother.

I am grateful that I saw the following people live on stage:  Ivor Cutler, Michael Marra, Martin Buchan, Jim Baxter, Neil Innes, John Fahey, Leo Kottke, Joni Mitchell, Jan Garbarek, Kelly Joe Phelps, Hinge and Bracket, Spike Milligan, Ken Dodd, Scotland the What and Donald Canavan.  Not forgetting Bob Kenny, Graham Leggat and Willie Hamilton (Hearts and Hibs!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.