wsjohnson

By wsjohnson

you are missing the guard

So the world remains the same, the sun rose on time, the Virgin arrived at Euston late as usual, the "end" may be near, but it didn't happen yesterday! I wonder what all those people are thinking now? "damn guess I better call Marks, T-Mobile, and Santander, have to explain - create a good excuse anything but the "truth" - behind my failure to pay their bills"

"Yes, you see, this society we're in - according to their gospel - was scheduled to end on the 12th of October 2015 and well since this is the 13th of October 2015 and, uh, I'm like still here as is the society of which I speak, what can I say except . . . . oops"

Death cults, gawd you people are stupid!

Moving on, so like we spent today in London, Steffi is improving (I did not go out and visit her - at her request - no problem) Jenni is preparing to depart tomorrow, she does have a life to get back to as well and things aren't as "dire" as they once were, soooo

She decided to go by the Palace for noon, the changing of the guard and all, in reality in all of her "way over 25" years of being born and proudly bred English (and "being English" is putting it mildly) it was something She had never experienced.

Imagine

I would have thought that being a recipient of an exclusive (read: expensive) Public School education/background attending all the 'ceremonial' aspects of England/Britain lore would be paramount up to and including the changing of the guard at the Palace. Silly me

So, there we were in the throng of touristas earlier and their Canons, iphones and other assorted 'second-rate' cameras; (sort of surprised me, the lack of Nikons if I'm being honest) all waiting for what - nobody was really sure - but then again, there you go.

"You pays your nickel, you takes your chances, you stand in/on line"

Constable Daverov captured my eye astride her rather commanding steed, "lord love a duck" such a proper seat I have never seen (and yeah, in case you're wondering, She was "not amused") the changing of the guard I had seen numerous times on PBS and never have I spotted the constable or her seat

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.