Ghana (day 10)

I broke a corner of a tooth last night. No pain, but a worry, so today seeing a dentist was top priority. Jacinta (who's works for the charity which runs the house where we're living) was tasked with taking me to the oral department at the local teaching hospital.

She was a great fixer, and I suspect she fixed me all the way to the front of the queue. No treatment needed until I get home, so that's a relief.

Philo (the housekeeper) had saved some lunch for me. It got Blipped. Well, almost. Most of it was down my neck by the time I thought to Blip it.

It was red red with rice and fried plantain. Best thing I've eaten here so far. Red red is black eyed peas stewed in tomatoes and palm oil with onion and one of those super hot chillies. Palm oil is red and so is the finished dish. The taste is like a cross between chilli con carne (minus the carne) and a veggie curry.

I can guarantee I'll be making it at home next month. Perfect winter comfort food in Scotland.

Philo thought I'd licked the bowl & plate when I returned them to the kitchen, so she was chuffed with her efforts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.