Grandpont Nature Park – 08.12 on 13 October 2015

47 minutes after sunrise.

Week 41 of the series.

Just crows and gulls this morning, and that splendid flower I've been watching growing over the last few weeks.

I cycled 19 miles around Oxford today, going to various classes and meetings. Not a patch on what earthdreamer does before breakfast and after work but pretty good for me.

One of the trips was to a thought-provoking presentation by the photographer Tom Wood this evening. A challenge to some of my geometries. I shall be experimenting.

Edit in response to the geometry queries:
Many of Tom Wood's pictures had horizons that were nowhere near horizontal and/or verticals that tipped markedly. At first I was distracted from the pictures by these, after a while of looking they were just an aspect of the image, a bit further in I started to see them as adding to the life of the picture.

I've often seen photos at a 'jaunty' angle and usually it feels gimmicky to me. I almost always level my horizons and make sure that my central vertical is vertical. Not, for example in this image, but that didn't matter as the viewer had no frame of reference for the vertical. I sometimes skew my images to remove the more marked effects of point-of-view or parallax.

When I asked Tom Wood about this after the meeting, by which time I was understanding his pictures better, he told me that he reacts fast to what he sees and if he doesn't have time to get things square it's not important. And from looking at more of his pictures on the internet after the meeting, I could see why he wouldn't straighten them.

I don't plan to change anything radically - just try to frame and process my pictures with less attention to Descartes and see what happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.