PixelChristi

By PixelChristi

Clever little blighter

Here's a weird thing.

We've had this window bird feeder for four years. Never once have the local squirrels had a go at it because it's ( we thought ) inaccessible to all but the birds due it's position square in the middle of a largeish window.

Now. Rachel had a nightmare of sorts last night involving a squirrel which she couldn't get out of the house. This made me laugh, especially if you remember that I fake-believe that squirrels are the harbingers of doom.

This morning I came down to find Rachel slightly bemused and freaked out by the above sight. For the first tme ever and after that dream, there was a squirrel in our window. We watched him figure it out too. eventually coming to the conclusion that a Super Mario style wall jump was the way forward.

I think he's unbelievably cute although I do wish he was a red. Our 6 year old has asked me to post this as my blip today and I think it has to be the winner. Unfortunately unless we actually want to be over-run with squirrels*, apparently we have to discourage him or he'll invite his mates.

We have a humane, bad tasting spray for the kibble which the birds don't seem to taste but the squirrels can't stand. We've also got a similar but smaller bird feeder which the squirrel can't fit in.

So far he hasn't returned. :(


*surely a precursor to the apocalypse?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.