snailspace

By snailspace

The Boat Came In

Dance ti' thy daddy, sing ti' thy mammy,
Dance ti' thy daddy, ti' thy mammy sing;
Thou shall hev a fishy on a little dishy,
Thou shall hev a fishy when the boat comes in.


The island has recently been treated to the regular, though infrequent, arrival of a fresh fish van.  Until now I have only successfully caught the van once, at the Sanday Show, but have now arranged for a housecall whenever they visit Sanday. The van has just been and I have stocked up. 


It's all daisy-fresh (landed yesterday) and brought over from Kirkwall under ice on the morning boat today.


I scored two fillets of COD! Be still, my beating heart. COD. Oh, my. Can't wait. 


Also today, a lovely piece of smoked haddock, some fish pie mix, and a packet of scallops. All for £20. It will provide 6 or 7 meals. The scallops I have had before and they are amazing - so sweet, just like scallops one reads about but never had before. If I recall correctly they are ten to the packet, for a fiver. Delivered to the door, no ferry travel to town  to pay for and my time my own instead of a day lost. 


Brill.


No, they had no Brill.


https://www.facebook.com/KirkwallBayShellfish



Now, I must go split that pie mix down into two meal-sized portions.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.