Life In Wales

By KarenC

Round Two!

My operation went ok yesterday and I was only in theatre for 35 minutes. It was a little uncomfortable as they had to leave a needle in the port overnight, ready for the chemo this morning, so I had a very big, tight dressing on it.

I slept well though and this morning I had my usual gourmet breakfast, was brought a newspaper and had a visit from the physiotherapist - I still have restricted movement in my left arm after the operation to remove the lymph nodes, and she thinks my tricep has gone into a spasm. So she worked it a little bit this morning and has booked me in for a couple of physio sessions starting next week.

I then went through to the oncology unit, had the dressing removed and was hooked up for my chemo using the new port. It was all fine and I had a lovely foot massage from the French lady who's the in-house masseuse. We spoke French again which was nice and next time I'll see if she's happy for me to blip her.

So here I am, in the chair, sporting my pink headscarf that Chris bought me. I was home by 12.30 and now have my feet up with the boys looking after me, including Alan who's working from home. So that's now 2 down and only 4 to go - next time I'll be half way through!

I have to say that all the staff at the Nuffield Hospital are really nice. They're very jolly and like to have a laugh, which makes the whole process so much easier - I even came away with a piece of chocolate cake, although I was good and gave it to Alan :-)

I've just noticed that my 'bald' blip from yesterday is almost at the top of the popular page again, thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.