Mr John

By MrJohn

Ello ello ello .....

..... whats going on 'ere then ?

Well officer.....

Today the Olympic torch came through Ilkley. I work on the route of the torch and finished work an hour before it was due to pass this evening. Even an hour before it was due the crowds were building up. I walked home ( only 5 minutes away from work ) and I seemed to be the only person in Ilkley walking in that direction, there was a continuous stream of people walking towards Leeds Road.

After getting changed and getting myself an ice cream out of the freezer ( It was very sunny ) I walked back up to Leeds road to meet up with friends to watch the torch pass, the crowds were huge and very friendly. Lots of union flags being waved, children with home made cardboard Olympic torches, there where whistles and one of my ex work mates with a bugle. I also saw lost of very nice DSLR's, I expect a few of them belonged to other local blippers.

The thing that struck me most about the whole event was how well it was policed. The police outriders were driving along hands out stretched to tap the hands of all the children waiting at the side of the road. The police officers on foot were having lots of friendly banter with the crowds. and the police vans and bikes passing were tooting their horns and waving to the crows.

I did take some nice photos of the torch as it passed but This shot of one of the police officer having a bit of friendly banter with a young lad in a union flag wig sums up the event for me.


" Is that your own hair young man ? "

So todays blip is .....



..... Ello ello ello, whats going on 'ere then ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.