Today's Special

By Connections

Black and Blue

The title, thankfully, does not refer to my bruises, which are almost gone. That said, I'm still not 100% recovered from my fall on September 28. Ironically, my Blip friend and former high school classmate Tookie, fell on the same day, but on the opposite coast of the United States, and in a much more challenging environment.

Blipfoto has provided a reason to get out and a focus beyond my external injuries, and the many supportive messages from those who follow my journal have meant a great deal to me. Thank you so much!

I thought I'd have a go at Abstract Thursday today, so while doing some errands in Fairhaven, I looked around for possible subjects. I'm not fond of abstract art, so this was definitely a challenge for me! I sought a definition of abstract photography, and Wikipedia obliged with "Abstract photography... is a means of depicting a visual image that does not have an immediate association with the object world... An abstract photograph may isolate a fragment of a natural scene in order to remove its inherent context from the viewer, it may be purposely staged to create a seemingly unreal appearance from real objects, or it may involve the use of color, light, shadow, texture, shape and/or form to convey a feeling, sensation, or impression."

I'm not sure if my blip today meets all those criteria, but I liked the interweaving shapes. You can see it in a wider context in the extra photo.

Many thanks to youoregon1 for hosting Abstract Thursday! Take a look at the entries for AT16 here.

Blip 1378

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.