Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Better Garden Photography

May be if I spent less time holding a camera and more time with a trowell in my hand I would have a better garden!

I went to a seminar given by the Royal Photographic Society in order to show me how to take better garden photographs. It was run in conjunction with an exhibition of the International Garden Photographer of the Year Competition.

How come none of the exhibits showed nettles? I am such a bad gardener in favour of a wildlife garden!

To share with you the seminar: plant photography is all about using dof to blur the background (you knew that, didn't you?) White patches of sky distract the eye from the flower (you knew that too). Always use a tripod.

Regarding the competition, (there are many on blip who could enter) I came away with one statement jotted down in capitals:

"TELL US SOMETHING NEW ABOUT THE PLANT WORLD!"

That's a tough one, isn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.