Flower Friday: Green and Gold

"Nothing Gold Can Stay"

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf.
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day.
Nothing gold can stay.

Robert Frost (1874 - 1963)


Today was my birthday. I spent it with Mum, and she treated me to lunch and we had a good natter and a wander around a craft shop looking at all the goodies (and buying one or two). It was my first birthday without Dad, and so it was tinged with sadness. A year ago today we still had hope that he might be made more comfortable and live for a while longer, but it was not to be. People say time heals, but so far I have missed him even more as the weeks and months have gone by.

I realised today that several of the poems I've quoted in my blips have been reminders to make the most of what we have, because nothing lasts. These eight lines, by one of my favourite poets, convey this too. But an
important message to take from this poem is that once you recognise how fleeting and precious certain moments are, you will appreciate them even more.


PS:  The flowers in my blipfoto really were green!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.