EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Mursi...Mursi..

Being a part of Egypt's Revolution, is something I and millions of others thought we would never experience. Thinking back over the last 18months, it has been both surreal, alarming, frightening, an education and sadly, frustrating. But we have been a part of a vital part of Egypt's history which has and will continue to provide an example for other Countries to follow.

Waiting for the results of the Election has been 'An experience I will never forget'. 'We have 'Waited' for 18 months. What we were waiting for was not clear, but we have waited.

Daily life has had to carry on. A living has had to be made, mouths have had to be fed. We all felt we were in limbo. We carried on regardless, dealt with situations that were alien to this Culture, we felt forgotten, the Worlds' eyes were upon us but no one was able to help. At times it seemed so helpless here, people took comfort in their routine and prayed for their future.

Today, Sunday 24th June 2012, at 3pm, the new President of Egypt was to be announced. I had been shopping, had a swim and headed back to the West Bank at 2.30pm, plenty of time to catch the announcement I thought, we are in Egyptian time.

The ferry was not busy, but those that were on there, could not wait to jump off and rush home to watch the results on the TV. The streets were desolate and reminiscent of the Revolution. I quickened my pace as I grew closer to home. Throwing my bags down, turning the TV and kettle on, Bob (My cat) and I waited for the results. And we waited. And waited....In true Egyptian style, the announcement was late and very drawn out to say the least. FaceBook friends were online 'Get on with it' they all wrote and Bob left the building...he had had enough!

The result finally came, it was not what I had expected. I believe Luxor to have been (On the whole) a Shafiq supporter, so this I know would be a blow to many living here. But as with any election, there are those that will be happy and those that will be sad.

These are the Mursi supporters celebrating at the foot of the Qorna Mountain. The burial place of the ancient Pharoahs, their Queens, the Nobles and the workers of the tombs. A monumental place to celebrate the first Civilian President in Egypts' history.
More






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.