FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

I never knew...

I never knew that the first aviator to fly non-stop across the Atlantic was a Manchester-born RAF pilot Sir John William Alcock (pictured) who flew with his navigator Arthur Brown in a Vickers Vimy. I discovered this at the National Portrait Gallery today.

I also discovered that Roald Dahl was married to actress Patricia Neal (portrait photo in my extra pics), most famous for her role in Breakfast at Tiffany's as the girlfriend of George Peppard's character. Now I think about it her grand daughter Sophie Dahl has a striking resemblance to her.

I enjoyed a quiet couple of hours strolling through the gallery today. I spent most of my time in the Tudors rooms. Sir Walter Rayleigh really was rather handsome while Elizabeth I quite the grand lady.

A lovely day in London catching up with a couple of friends. I had lunch with one then a quick drink on the way home with the other and my gallery trip in between. I've not seen either of the girls for a couple of years but it was as if no time had passed at all.

Time went nowhere in the gallery too. I must go back again soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.