He’d recognise this

As St Paul’s was built between 1675 and 1710 Dickens would recognise it.
 
And it is mentioned several times in his books such as when the wretched crossing-sweeper Jo (from Bleak House) sees the cross atop the dome, ‘so golden, so high, so far out of his reach’- a metaphor of his own hopeless condition.
 
I’ve worked in London today and the photo was taken as I was walking back to Waterloo.  As you can see lots of people are enjoying an after work drink.
 

And when I was searching for old buildings at lunch time I found the Magpie, a dark wood-panelled pub in a Victorian building with large windows and upstairs dining.  Dickens might have walked past this and I loved the guy looking at me.

Yesterday I was starting to feel better and today I feel worse. So I'm posting this and drinking hot honey and  lemon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.