What is love

We are all coming to terms with our loss and know there is a long way to go.  I have been reflecting on the love that my parents had for each other, they were married for 66 years before dad passed away.  CCN's mum and dad were close to celebrating their 70th wedding anniversary in February.  It has made me wonder about love and how important it is in our lives.  How blessed we are to find a partner we can share our life with.  I want to share the following with you.............

What is love?  To solve that riddle with just one answer is impossible, for love is so many different and contradictory things.  In the early stages love is excitement and breathlessness, it is the ache of separation and the comfort of togetherness, and it builds inexorably to that moment when ‘I’ becomes ‘we’  Later if blessed, love becomes a stronger, less transitory thing, a foundation for two lives lived as one.  It is all around us, there for the taking, yet to seek it out is futile.  It can not be bought, stolen or given.  It cannot be avoided or denied.  Love is the beautiful, wonderful, mysterious mortar that binds two souls together and I first heard its voice on the day I met you.  It has been with me every moment since.  This is what love is.


Anonymous

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.