kwchas

By kwchas

North Borneo Railway

Today we went on a trip on the North Borneo railway from Kota Kinabalu to Papar.

The steam locomotive we travelled on was manufactured by the Vulcan Foundry Ltd in Newton Le Willows about 20 miles from where we live. It was one of three locomotives that made up the last order for the foundry and was built in 1955.

For train buffs it a 2-6-2 tender locomotive 58ft in length weighing 85 tons. It is one of only a few functional wood burning locomotives in the world. My extra shows the boiler being stoked.

My second extra photo is just a picture I really liked at one of our stops. I had too many blips to choose from today and wish I could carry them over to November when I suspect I will be desperate for something interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.