Out For A Walk And Potato Spaghetti

The cows didn't like me today. They were making all sorts of noises and I took off. After I took a photo, of course.

My first extra photo: After the cow excursion I prepared potatoes for tomorrows dumpling-feast. Thought some of you might be interested in the "making-of".
Tomorrows dumplings are called "Schneebällchen" (snowballs) and are made from cooked floury potatoes (it will only work with floury potatoes - finally found some in the third grocery store this morning).
The cooked and peeled potatoes go into a potato press and they come out like potato spaghetti. Covered with a tea towel they have to rest and dry until tomorrow morning, when the "dough" will get its final treatment.
Another first - my mom refuses to make Schneebällchen for years now and I wanted them so bad....had to borrow her old potato press. She said it's more than 70 years old and once belonged to my grandma. Didn't know that. I never knew my grandma and I was proud holding her old press in my hands preparing my dumplings just like she might have done years before I was born.

20:30, 5,4°C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.