Shoes on the Danube

My friend went back to France today and I continued my walk around Budapest. I came across the Shoes on the Danube memorial.

The Shoes on the Danube Promenade is a memorial created by Gyula Pauer and Can Togay on the bank of the Danube River here in Budapest. It honours the Jews who were killed by fascist Arrow cross party militiamen in Budapest during World War II. They were ordered to take off their shoes, and were shot at the edge of the water so that their bodies fell into the river and were carried away. It represents their shoes left behind on the bank, sixty pairs of cast iron shoes, cast in the styles of the 40's, stand in remembrance of the people shot into the Danube during the Arrow Cross terror.

I took some other photo's with the baby Canon today you can see these here

Budapest walkabout

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.