Leiflife

By Leiflife

Consolation

I didn't recognize this tiny messenger that brought me a sweet reprieve from the cares of the day. Discovered it is known as a Long-tailed Skipper, and is not a friend to farmers. To me it brought consolation and relief. Simply hovering around the bushes with my camera focused on its fluttering path lightened the weight of recent fear and sadness. 

Music ate nothing today except a few bites of scrambled egg. He lay on his bed and slept deeply until my cousin, Marjorie, came by with boiled shrimp for me. She also brought Gizmo, her daughter's dog, and Music surprised us all by rising laboriously to sniff his old friend and even to go outside and walk ever so slowly down the road a ways. So...a little bit of exercise and a small but sincere tail wag... These made my day...along with this magnificent butterfly with its peacock blue "feathers".  

The extra is less colorful, but marvelously "hairy".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.