Swaledale

Worth going large

My days seem to be incredibly hectic at the moment, even by my own standards. Up early and managed half a day of work before setting out on the bike after lunch. The forecast suggested that the skies would clear mid-afternoon to leave a beautifully sunny summer's evening. I battled my way up Wharfedale through frequent showers and then over Kidstones to Thoralby, Aysgarth and Askrigg. The showers were still around but I decided to take in possibly my two favourite climbs in the Dales, first taking the road over to Reeth, at the bottom of which this photo was taken, and then along the length of Swaledale in the direction of the photo (you can just about make out the road to the right of the river), almost to Muker, where I turned left and climbed back over to Askrigg. From there it was a battle into the wind to Hawes and then the little matter of the climb over Fleet Moss back into Wharfedale. It came in at 99 miles. After all that climb I wasn't that fussed about grabbing the extra mile to make it a ton!

The clouds only really cleared for the last stretch from Burnsall, although I'm not complaining because the cloudscapes this afternoon, especially in the latter part, were amazing. I had intended to get back in time for the England match against Italy, but I'd taken so many photographs I was running a half hour late. It was while stopped taking a photo that I was caught by Ben from the club, and he was kind enough to slow down a bit to ride with me on the last stretch home. It was good to have some company, and a wheel to follow for a bit!

I won't bore you by talking about the football. My lads were gutted that we lost on penalties, with much swearing and shouting going on. For my part, I think it would have been a travesty if we had gone through in that way. The best team won. I think I'm glad that we've been spared a mauling from the Germans!

There were many good contenders for the blip today but I chose just two shots quite quickly from which to choose. This was the runner-up. It's possibly the photograph I like more, but this one is for the journal. I love Swaledale. As you descend into it, from any of four different climbs over from Wensleydale, it's like being immediately taken back fifty years in time. It seems almost untouched by the modern world. I think most people agree that it is the most beautiful of all the Yorkshire Dales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.