Living In The Valley

By CatbirdCottage

Back Yard Neighbors

Our neighbor has provided nest boxes for the Purple Martins for years. They are the largest of the North America swallows. They like to nest in colonies and are quite vocal if we are to close. Well, our garden is very close to the colony and they fuss and fuss whenever we're there. Tonight this Momma was waiting for us to leave so she could bring dinner. This year I have had the purple martins, tree swallows and barn swallows all nesting close by. I'll have to say these birds do a bang up job on the mosquito population. I rarely notice any mosquitoes and I do think I need to thank my feathered neighbors for that.

ps. The tree swallows have already left for their southern journey for winter. One of the saddest parts of summer when that happens

pps. Daughter has just found out she'll be working in the history department at school starting fall semester. yippee....

Backblipped yesterday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.