MeriRand & the NW Passage

By randra

Tudo Tranquilo

Hannah's weekend visit (and my last full weekend in country) has gone too fast. Today, we went on an excursion or outing (still not sure what the English word is) to Ilha do Boi. It was, I think, the perfect example of why I love Brazil. But you have to have the relaxed attitude for it.

Coralie, Hannah, and I swam out into the water until we got close to some anchored boats with low-key parties. Two guys from one of the boats jumped off and swam over to us, where they then invited us to join in their festivities. After chatting a while, sharing some drinks, and watching three sea turtles bobbing in the water around the boat, we girls swam back to shore and our two Brazilian friends playing volleyball in the setting sun. (It's seriously what happened.)

On the walk off Ilha, Pedro (who had his guitar with) stopped at a seaside overlook of Morro do Moreno and Convento da Penha to play to the beat of the waves. Hannah's face perfectly describes my feelings for Brazil in this moment.

I sent Hannah off on the bus tonight and began my packing. I pinky swore to Pedro I'd be back, so there it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.