Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Cough syrup berries

These are the leaves and berries of the guelder rose.  Such a wonderful colour at this time of year.  I blipped them this afternoon down by the river (and, no, I didn't hit the saturate button).  That intense colour and the slight translucence always reminds me of the cherry cough medicine around when we were kids.  Was it what is now Covonia?  I don't know.

From this you will gather I didn't get where I was going to today.  Probably just as well.  The lovely person who was going to take me to The Great All England Horse Ploughing Match, which happens near here at Rogate, had a sore throat.  By the time I got back from my walk I was coughing fit to bust.  It wasn't meant to be, but I do hope next year -  I've never seen an event like it.

By the way, a piece of trivia for you concerning the spiders' webs all over this and everything else at the moment - If a spider could spin a thread round the circumference of the Earth, it would only weigh 6 ozs.  :-))

I think I'm going to have to largely miss commenting tonight and catch up in the morning, if you don't mind.  Have a great evening and a good start to the week  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.