Early faith in Vulcan XH558

Back on Christmas morning in 2000, I had an envelope under the Christmas tree from my wife. In it was this certificate. Subsequently, I've had it signed by pilots Martin Withers DFC and David Thomas.

8 years ago today Vulcan XH558 finally got back into the sky - Happy Birthday Delta Lady! Each time she has flown, she has had my name on her bomb bay doors.

Now she only has 2 more flights left until retirement. In the 8 years that she has been flying, we've had some fun together. We've done a wedding together, I was with her when she met up with her 2 AVRO Lancaster sisters, she's passed my house whenever she's transited south of her home base of Doncaster Robin Hood Airport and I've had the the honour of knowing and meeting some amazing people who have been directly and indirectly involved with her from the crew to the volunteers who campaign for her continued success. It's been a pleasure and I'll miss  her distinctive sound as she passes my windows. Maybe, she'll find a way to continue... ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.