A tit on the side

I wake with the light - no curtains - and the rattle of the bird feeders that hang outside my window. A thump and volley of bangs announces the arrival of the woodpecker but mostly it's smaller birds  pecking on the peanuts and fat balls.
Today I went to take a shower and returning to my bedroom was startled to see a blue tit settled on the duvet. It maintained its composure even after I returned with my camera and started snapping.  Eventually I ushered it back towards the open window where it perched for a moment and gave me a beady-eyed look before flying off, leaving a damp patch where it had been on the bed.
I think it was a young one because its cheeks are still yellowish and there were some stray tufts of baby feathers among its plumage. No way of telling the sex of blue tits but whichever it is it will be welcome to make a return visit to my bedside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.