Fall Colors in the Scotia Barrens

We had our first frost Sunday morning, and I was glad I had brought the Dancing Girls (and the fuchsia plant that is their home) into the garage the night before. Soon, I'll have to knit them all tiny sweaters!

My husband and I headed up to the gameland closest to our house, the Scotia Pine Barrens. I walked; he jogged. The light was coming and going, with sun alternating with clouds. The breeze was chilly, and it spat fat snowflakes at us on occasion.

In fact, it was spitting snow just before I took this shot, and I thought - Wow, is it time for winter pictures already? But of course, it didn't stay. And in a minute, the sun was out and the clouds cleared, yielding blue-sky reflections on the water.

This is one of the many beaver ponds in state gameland 176 (for that is its number - all of them are numbered). We have actually watched a beaver swim around in the pond just outside of frame to the left. But the beaver was not out on this day. Just me and my camera; and the trees and the bushes and the ferns, all wearing the golden shades of autumn.

I wanted the song to accompany this image to include the word fall. The song has nothing to do with autumn, really, but I think it is one of the best love songs of all time. So here is a love song to autumn: Bono and U2, with Can't Help Falling in Love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.