My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Sentry Duty.............................

I am only sorry I couldn't get any nearer to see the cygnets (old name "Swanlings") more clearly! However, the cob obviously wasn't keen! I think there were either4 or 5 little ones The pen was having a well earned rest.

Try on large

The river was very muddy and really roaring - the ducks were really struggling.

Swan was considered a luxury food from the time of Elizabeth the 1st. (I don't know if it is still eaten or not). There have been many fairy tales, ballets etc..(both tragic
and romantic), involving swans.

Pairs usually stay together for life - tho' there a few divorces - usually during the hatching of the eggs.

On a rather amusing note - I am informed that Francois
Rabelais wrote "a swan's neck is the best lavatory paper there is"!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.