Red Shafted Northern Flicker

Web sites describe this a a medium sized woodpecker, but I would describe him as a large woodpecker. I looked out my kitchen window and he was sitting right there on the deck railing. I think these birds are striking and I enjoy it when they visit. While on the web sites, I read that they are seen here in greater number during Oct, Nov and Dec, so I look forward to more visits.

Today was a day of quietly curling up with a book I am studying in a small group. We have finished it this week and tomorrow we will meet to review what we personally got out of the book. Since I like to ponder these things, I have gone back and taken notes for our discussion. The greatest thing I have gained through this study is that all of life can be valued for what it has taught me about living this moment as the best person I can be. If I hold on to the past, harbor resentments or live with fear of the future, I will not be happy in this moment......and this moment is really all we have. The quotes I will probably remember are, 
""Fear and Judgment block a truly beautiful life; they cause suffering and decrease joy."   
"Ego does not want justice, it wants to prove guilt. It builds a case against others and keeps me in pain."
"Pain can be used for good OR it can destroy us. Move on, get over it." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.