Poppy with meaning.

I made this photographic composition up for the RAF Masirah and RAF Salalah Association facebook page, for which I am an administrator.
The Poppy is a standard, large, poppy from the Royal British Legion, the Islamic prayer beads (Sub'ah) are mine from when I worked in Saudi Arabia, the sand I brought back from Masirah Island after our trip there one year ago this month.
I thought it a fitting tribute for the Oman Veterans pages because of the many service personnel that died there in battles that weren't allowed to be publicised, and received little, or no, recognition.
Casualties were Army, SAS, and RAF, many of them were in the service of the Sultan of Oman having been seconded from the British Military. RAF Pilots lost would have been flying Skyvan, Provost and Strikemaster aircraft for the SOAF (Sultan of Oman Air Force, now called RAF Oman).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.