Up, up and away ............

I had to call at a local hostelry to collect the menu for my art group's meal out in December (I'm not referring to the "C" word yet but we need to book it up early).

While in the Chirk area I decided to have a walk along the River Ceiriog and to blip the aqueduct and viaduct. As I was walking along, a helicopter appeared with a big camera attached underneath. I was just taking it's photo when a hot air balloon appeared from the direction of Chirk Castle. Underneath was tethered a real camper van - securely fastened thank goodness!

It sailed above the aqueduct with the helicopter continually circling around  it then passing underneath. Speaking to a couple who were there, they'd seen it being towed to Chirk this morning and that the other side were photographers with tripods. If I'd known about it I'd have got into a better position but I was lucky to see it at all. The extra is of them above the aqueduct. It's not very good as it was too far away.

I don't know if it was being filmed for a TV programme (apparently Top Gear did a similar thing with a caravan) or it could have been for an advert. If you see it, the figure in the field in a blue fleece is me!  

Post script - Someone has suggested that this could be what it was filming. I'll have to watch out for it in case!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.