The Travellist's journal

By TheTravellist

Back in Hanoi

My train arrived in Hanoi on time at 12.30pm. I met my friend Amy and we went for lunch at my favourite restaurant in Hanoi (from my time here in February). They only serve one dish, the traditional version of Chả Cá, fish marinated in turmeric and cooked with dill and spring onions. I had it twice in two days last time I was here and it's still as delicious as I remember it!

Next we had another speciality of Hanoi: egg coffee. Instead of adding milk, they use egg yolk whipped up and sweetened. It's fantastic and reminds me of eggnog. I found myself a hotel in the Old Quarter and then met Amy's tour group. All 10 of us went for dinner together which is difficult to organise, especially with differing tastes so we ended up getting take-away pizzas and sitting by the lake. They're a nice group!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.