Chatterbox

For once the sun shone, and after a couple of hours of reporting, I couldn't resist the urge to get outside any longer. I didn't want to be too long, so headed to Ferry Meadows, This time last year I was visiting quite regularly, as it was one of the few places my aged dog could still have a walk and wallow in the lake. I've visited far less since she died last autumn.

It still seems strange going there alone, but I was soon distracted by the huge flock of starlings, which must have been well into the thousands, feeding in the tangled hawthorn and bramble scrub.The cacophony was immense - a continual chorus of chattering and whistles, as these social birds kept in touch with each other. I eventually had a very enjoyable walk, and was surprised to see many hornets over near the river, a species that's quite frequent in many of the local ancient woods, but not one that I've ever seen at this location before.

The afternoon was spent taking Alex and Ben to dental appointments, and visiting town to get some Czech koruna ready for Alex's visit to Prague. Can't believe he'll be off on Thursday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.