slouch

I'm never particularly conscious of slouching but I suspect I probably do through a combination of attempting to be relaxed and unobtrusive. When I notice I try and straighten my neck before it's too late and I end up as one of these people whose neck protrudes from their shoulders parallel to the ground. Straightening the neck and shoulder does carry a risk of looking like you're attempting to look tall or deep-chested similar to the classic permanently-flexed pose of sufferers of short bloke syndrome or the constant fingering of the buttons of the suit of the chubby to hide their swelly belly. I've always been rather aware of people whose arm-swing-whilst-walking looks excessive, forced or exaggerated and when I was small I would react against this by deliberatishly not moving my arms at all when walking on the rare occasions when hands were not kept in pockets though have since relaxed a little though still avoid excessive arm-swinging except when running and the arms really don't need to be moved that much even then despite the attempts of many joggers to enhance their apparent speed by extreme flailing or other extraneous and inefficient motions.

Really odd are the people who somehow move their arms around behind them on the backswing, flicking in so that the hand almost crosses the backbone with a strange flicking motion. I'll have to ask one one day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.