Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Toy Story

A friend asked me if I would teach her son some woodworking skills. Since I'm his honorary grandpa I could hardly refuse. When I asked him what he would like to make in his first session, he immediately said "a camera". I explained that we could do it, but it wouldn't really take photos -- it would have to be a "pretend" camera. He seemed quite happy with that.

I wanted him to be able to do some sawing, drilling, and sanding, and be able to complete the camera comfortably in a single two -hour session. I wanted a simple design, with a reasonable resemblance to a real point-and-shoot. 

I was able to make this demonstration model without buying anything. I rummaged through my cupboards, boxes, and drawers in the shop, looking for something to use for the lens and found some little aluminum storage containers with clear plastic lids. The shutter release is a miniature switch from my box of electronic bits, and the shiny button is an upholstery tack. The eye screws are bigger than I would have liked -- I'll get some smaller ones for the production model.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.