Apple Thoughts On Apple Day (21/10/15)

(i)
Lots of people
love apples.


We’re tempted by the shiny skin
and the lively taste
that lies within.


And we adore the humble apple
in crumbles
and in pies.



(ii)
When I see an innocent apple
hanging from a tree
I make a wish that no mishap’ll
befall him.



(iii)
In my day,
when young people
wanted to experiment with alcohol
they opted for cider.


Do they still?

As a teenage kid
I never did.
I preferred beer.



(iv)
I’m picturing a billionaire businessman
in a shiny green appleskin suit
sitting behind a desk
in the Big Apple,
apple juice running down his chin
as he bites into a big red one.



(v)
The Beatles christened
their company and record label Apple.
I remember ‘Hey Jude’
revolving on the turntable
and watching the Apple logo
go round and round.


Tasty song.


(vi)
Apple Day,
by the way,
is nothing to do with computers.



(vii)
I guess
some people
whose livelihood/ business
is apples


are obsessed
with them?



(viii)
Is it bonkers
to be bananas
about apples?


Apple Day

Hey

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.