Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Granada Souvenir

Went to bed at 8pm last night and had a snooze-in this morning, with Archie, until 11am! I could sleep for Team GB...

However, I have made up for my late start - ironing, hoovering, dusting and washing. Strangely, and annoyingly, the washing line that I left out last night (with no washing on it) is no longer there! Is there a washing line thief in the neighbourhood?

Also did a wee task that I've been meaning to do for, oh, years. Our phone always rang six times, which was just about enough time to get to it, but I meant to ask them for more rings. However, since we moved here, it only rings FOUR times, so if you don't dash (I was last able to dash circa 1998) at the first ring - no luck. Now why on earth would any phone company think that four times was a sensible amount? Anyway, now we've got ten. But it's usually nuisance calls anyway. Maybe I'll get them to change it back to six...

Took Archie to the Links in the morning. He's eating a lot of grass. And twigs. And leaves. I know it's fairly normal for dogs to do this, but his consumption rate has, I think, become excessive. He goes to the vet for his booster soon, so I'll check with them.

JR rang about 2pm (from the car, safely - both hands on the steering wheel and both eyes on the road) to say she was on the way home, just popping in to Fort Kinnaird to get some doggie food. She has just arrived... it's nearly 5 o'clock!! Archie has been up and down looking out the window for hours!

So here is Archie admiring the new vase. He will never be this close to it again. Amazing that we got it home in one piece, but I'm glad we went for the big one, and not the more sensible, and less costly, wee one. And just as well we didn't come across the main shop in Malaga!! (Check out http://alfajar.es. Can't do links on an iPad.) No, it appears that I can now do links on my iPad!

PS: My washing line has been returned by the neighbour from upstairs. He had been sent out to get their washing in, and brought TWO washing lines in.

His excuse? 'I'm a man.'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.