billy_green

By billy_green

Angel Wings.

This is the 'Angel wings' sculpture, just outside the shopping centre at the Angel, Islington in North London.

What is weird is that I have never noticed it before. 
There is a music venue called the O2 Islington right in the middle of the shopping centre and I have been there countless times, all at night, to see a gig. In fact I was most recently there Saturday (see Saturdays blip).
So I have walked past this sculpture many many times, but it was only today I noticed it.
I was walking past the centre on the way to a job (on the other side of the road) and immediately thought "Woah. I've never seen that before" - However its been there for 12 years!

Angel Wings 

21 Parkfield Street, Islington, London N1 0PS - England, UK


 
 
Angel Wings is one of the centrepieces of Islington town centre, a beautiful sculpture commissioned by the borough to provide a fascinating talking point in the main shopping area. It was designed in 2003 and is the work of a group of designers. It is thought to be the biggest public artwork in the whole of London. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.