fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Campobello

One of my very very favorite places on this Maine trip was our visit over the border in New Brunswick, Ca. to see the Roosevelt's summer home Campobello.  I have done a lot of reading on them and especially on Eleanor so walking on the grounds she/they did brought tears to my eyes it was such a moving experience.  I just loved the tea with Eleanor that we went to in Hubbard House....tears again.  The two women who shared stories about her were so passionate bringing Eleanor to life!  I thanked them afterwards.  Big R loved that too.  
  We ejoyed touring their home and seeing some of the dahlias and hollyhocks still in bloom....I included a couple close ups of those.  I have also put a picture I took of one on the wall of the entire family .One thing that struck me as I viewed the bedrooms, was how the family and the help had rooms right next to each other--no upstairs downstairs arrangements which showed an equality I liked.  The wallpaper was pretty so that is in the collage as well as an oval window found in Hubbard house.  
   We took a bog hike that is there on the international area of the park there so I included a couple shots --one of each of us from there.  Two extras--one from the Magnificent Monica's Chocolates in Lubec, Me. and the other of Big R devouring a delicious meat of bacon wrapped meatloaf at the Waterside Tavern in Lubec.
    I leave you with a quote given to us as we left the Tea with Eleanor:
"Surely, in the light of history, it is more intelligent to hope rather than to fear, to try rather than not to try.  Nothing has ever been aschieved by the person who says, "It can't be done"  amen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.