*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

295/365: Killed, aged 18

St Mary's Church - Kettlewell

A memorial to Charles Godfrey Cutcliffe Hyne, a Lt. in the Irish Guards, killed, aged 18, on November 21 1916. 

The bundled uniform at the feet of the young risen Christ symbolises Charles. The two soldiers (drawn from life) are two of his friends who survived the war.

This is my favourite stained glass window. I'm not a religious person so, as much as I admire a lot of windows in churches, they don't affect me. This affects me. Every time I see it. 

Had a lovely day with one of my favourite people. Lunch at Kilnsey, a wander around Kettlewell and a pint at The Blue Bell. Perfect.

I've added an extra of the "one of my favourite people". He won't thank me for doing so, but I like it :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.