Moments in time

By Ali_tkdgirl

Happy Reunion

So today is a day that at one point I thought I'd never see. You see, on Monday Daisy was rushed back to the Vet and a blood test showed that she had kidney damage. We had discovered that she had got in to my work bag and had eaten an ibuprofen tablet that was in there. She had managed to pop it out of the packaging! I was in total shock. The vet flushed her kidneys out and done all they could. On Monday we were told that the next 24 hours were critical. On Monday night tests showed she had renal failure but then some good news...she had managed to pee, a long pee. Monday night was awful,sleepless and full of worry. Bit little Daisy is a fighter and over night (helped with lots and lots of prayers) she rallied. She started to pee normally and her blood tests were getting better. We were allowed to visit her on Tuesday and were amazed but how well she looked, compared to the weekend. The only worry was that she wasn't eating, but we managed to tempt her with a few treats when we visited that got the ball rolling. Having to leave her there was heartbreaking, she was crying but I knew she was in the best place and all the nurses and vets were so lovely. She started eating again and improving and she was finally allowed home today. :). I was so happy, and Daisy too. She still has a long way to go, she's on a special diet because of her kidney damage (we have yet to see if it is permanent or not) and she gets tired easily, but is so happy to be home and has had lots of cuddles and love. I cannot express how grateful I am to Katie the Vet, she really was a miracle worker. We have to go back on Monday for a check up and to see what the next course of action is (if any).

I would never have thought that I little tablet could cause so much devastation. Daisy hates tablets and it was hard to believe she would eat one but the vet said ibuprofen are like sweets to dogs. Please, please make sure that your tablets are safely locked away. I never thought Daisy would go in my bag and I thought my tablets were safe in there, it is a lesson learnt in a devastatingly hard way.

This is an awful photo of me, but it sums up the happiness we both felt today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.