My Life in Pictures

By PhillyStitcher

Happy September

Suzie and Sallie. I'm so in love with them.

I'm getting exhausted using my walking cane. I keep dropping it. I keep misplacing it. 

Today at physical therapy, I tried a hospital-type walker, the one with wheels, and my back and knees felt surpringly well-supported. As I used the walker, I felt like I could walk forever. One of my goals at physical therapy was to go back to walking 1-2 miles again, and I'm getting closer to the goal.

The ordinary "old-people" walkers, the ones that are colorful and have baskets and seats, won't do for my needs. I've seen mothers push runner-friendly baby strollers and I thought I could find a good runner- (or, in my case, walker-) friendly walker online.

To my surprise, there was nothing available like that in the US. I did find one company in Sweden that produces what they call "sports rollators" after stumbling upon a picture of a lady hiking up a hill with her rollator. What impressed me most that the company said their sports rollator was built based on the principles of bicycle building...it sounded like it could be sturdy enough for my hour-long walks. It was really pricy, but as it happened, I did have enough funds in my bank account so I placed an order!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.