A Kirkwall Hostel

The Current Mrs Creel took me along on a nostalgic trip for her today.  This is the one of the old Kirkwall School Hostels where she spent much formative time.  As an islander attending the Kirkwall Grammar school she would stay on the Mainland and only get home one weekend a month.  Things improved and in the summer she would get home every weekend.  She spent a year in one hostel then moved to this newly built hostel (which is now empty as there another ‘new’ hostel).  Travelling home she would have to get the boat from Scapa to Flotta then on to Lyness.  She remembers that after Domestic Science she would feed the fishes in the Flow with her attempts.

She pointed out her old room to me.  It has to be said the baking training was very well worthwhile.  To me it looks similar to Roedean; in my fervid imagination Joyce Grenfell is still there as I write.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.