Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Bully for you!

On a rare day off together, my husband and I headed out for a walk around Pennington Flash. We discovered that a flash is a lake formed over time from mining subsidence. Pennington Flash is a legacy of Wigan's Industrial heritage.
It was our first time here, so we just wandered from the car park down to the lake and soon found a whole host of feathered friends. Hundreds of ducks, Canada geese, lapwings, gulls and a few swans were obviously used to people being around and gathered towards another car park in the hope of being fed I think.
There were at least half a dozen hides to watch the birds from and we spent ages in Bunting Hide where the smaller woodland birds were being very well fed, along with the squirrels, ducks, pigeons and magpies. My favourite spot today was this colourful bullfinch. I don't ever remember seeing one of these, so this was yet another new bird to add to my list.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.